Vienna

See the artistic and aesthetic side of Vienna, perfect for gathering inspiration and taking artsy instagram selfies – experience the nature-inspired creations of Hundertwasser, learn about the history of the city at the Museum of Vienna, visit empress Sissi at Schönbrunn, dive into the treasure trove of art at MuseumsQuartier, Galerie Belvedere and Art History Museum. Visit the green oasis of Stadtpark, or be transported to the exotic wilderness at Haus des Meeres.

Your sweet tooth and nostalgic soul will be satisfied by the traditional court patisiers of Vienna! Gerstner is where Doro used to make chocolates before she went on to dancing full time, and she can totally recommend a few specialties, like almond heaps (Mandelhäufchen), Sacher cake (Sachertorte), poppy cake (Mohntorte), and the even better and also healthier than your common cheesecake – quark cake (Topfentorte)! It‘s directly vis-a-vis from the wold famous Staatsoper in the historical Palais Todesco and open everyday till 23:00. Another recommendation is Demel with their ‚original‘ Sacher cake. For the authentic Viennese coffeehouse culture, sit down at a table at Cafe Central and have a relaxed couple of hours, if you come in the evening you can enjoy your cup of coffee and the yummy ‚peanuts caramel‘ with live piano music.

For coffee purists there is no better place than the oldest roastery in Vienna, Alt Wien. Third wave coffee houses are shooting from the ground all around the city, for example Brass Monkey with their cupcakes, People On Caffeine with amazing filter bar, or Coffee Pirates with yummy dirty chai.

The hot summer days are calling for a cooldown, and we know where you can find the best icecold refreshment! For icecream made from organic ingredients by Austrian farmers, go to Eisgreissler. For delicious vegan icecream, go to Veganista. For the best frozen yoghurt with myriad of toppings, go to Kurt. For a traditional icecream salon with a specialty, the icecream apricot dumplings, go to Eissalon Tichy.

Do not leave Vienna without tasting the holy trinity of Viennese sweets: Sachertorte, Mannerschnitten, Mozartkugeln!

For bigger hunger and creative itch, go to OmNomNom Burger and choose ingredients to create your own burger, or visit Swing Kitchen for delicious vegan alternative. The oldest beer brewery in Vienna Fischerbräu is the best place to enjoy a schnitzel and a cold beer. Smaller hunger will be satisfied at Joseph Brot bakery and bistro.

Restaurants near the Loft 25:

Anna & Jagetsberger
Cozy and delicious little cafe restaurant with two creative chefs.
Breakfast, lunch menu
omnivore & vegetarian
Every day: 10:00-16:00
indoor & outdoor


Bebop
Eclectic cafe restaurant bar with Viennese and Spanish cuisine and jazz music.
Lunch, dinner, drinks, brunch on Sunday
omnivore, vegetarian & vegan
Mon-Sat: 16:00-24:00, Sun: 10:00-22:00
indoor & outdoor


Bierwaage – Traditionelle Österreichische Küche & Pizza
Gasthaus zur alten Schmiede – Traditionelle Österreichische Küche
Zum Goldenen Panda – Chinesisch
Pizzeria San Marino – Italienisch
Schnitzel Kebap Fischhaus – Fast Food
Schnitzelhaus- Fast Food


If you rather want to see Vienna from above, you can take a stroll up the green hill of Schönbrunn castle park to Gloriette, or take the lift up to the Stephen‘s Cathedral Tower. For a coffee or a snack with a view, check out the Bar and Lounge Dachboden on the roof of 25hours hotel, the Cafe Oben on top of the city library, or the cafe on top of Haus des Meeres building. For a bigger picture, you may travel a bit farther to Kahlenberg.

Tribal Bellydancer in Vienna can spend hours at fabrics store Komolka, then go pick out beautiful trims and ribbons at Hans Peter Söhne, followed by bulk shopping at fabrics store Textil Müller. However, our favourite hunting ground is the Naschmarkt fleamarket taking place every Saturday – go early to catch the best bargains, and then come happy and satisfied to the first workshop of the day ;) To conclude the day, sit down and enjoy a shisha at Tolerance shisha & cocktail bar.

The adventurers with no fear of heights are encouraged to try the forest rope park Waldseilpark Kahlenberg, or dare to fly the fox and free-fall at Spider-Rockwatch Flo jump with sound on! For the lovers of speed and adrenaline, the amusement park in Prater is the best address to spend a few hours trying out the various rides.

For more interesting tips on how to spend your time in Vienna, check out the Secret Vienna blog. If you are looking for something specific that is not on this list, don‘t hesitate to ask!




Locations

Workshop Location

Loft 25
Kendlertraße 25
1140 Vienna
www.loft25.at

Show Location

Szene Wien
Hauffgasse 26, 1110 Vienna
Directions
Tickets

Party Location

Dionysos-Nosh Restaurant
Kochgasse 9, 1080 Wien
www.dionysos-nosh.at

Afterparty Location

Danube Island (Donauinsel) between U6 Handelskai and U6 Neue Donau
Meeting Point U6 Handelskai

carvie17_plan


Accomodation

Hotel

Convenient accomodation next to the Workshop Locations:
www.hotel.de

Hostel

A cheaper alternative are Viennas hostels. We recommend the “Wombats Hostel” with two hostels in Vienna. Wombat’s ‘The Lounge’ is directly on the U3 metro that takes you to workshop and show locations! Wombats ‘The Naschmarkt’ is close to U4 metro line near the legendary “Naschmarkt” with an awesome fleamarket on Saturdays and quite close to the city center.
Wombat’s offers a discount for group booking with 15 people! You can get together with fellow Caravanseray participants in the Facebook Event, so that you can inquire as a group.

wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE LOUNGE”
Mariahilfer Straße 137, 1150 Wien

wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Rechte Wienzeile 35,1040 Wien

www.wombats-hostels.com

Other Accomodation

These organisations connect travellers all over the world with the local population of the places they visit. There are many people in Vienna that offer private accomodation, guided tours through the city and more through these websites:
www.couchsurfing.org
www.hospitalityclub.org


Public Transport

Vienna has one of the best public transportation services of the world. The easiest way to find your shortest route between locations in Vienna is to fill out the form on their website, choose wich solution you like best and you can even download pdf-maps where you can see exactly where you have to go. The website is available in german and english.
www.wienerlinien.at

Ticketinfos

Wien

Die künstleriche und aesthetische Seite der Stadt ist perfekt um Inspirationen zu sammeln und tolle Instagram Selfies zu machen – besuche die von der Natur inspirierten Kunstwerke von Hundertwasser im KunstHausWien, lerne alles über die Geschichte der Stadt im Wien Museum, betritt das Zuhause von Kaiserin Sissi in Schönbrunn, lass dich zum staunen bringen von den Schätzen hinter den Wänden des MuseumsQuartier, Galerie Belvedere und Kunsthistorischem Museum. Eine Pause kannst du in der grünen Oase Stadtpark einlegen, oder unter den exotischen Bewohnern vom Haus des Meeres.

Wer gerne nostalgisch nascht, wird sich bei den traditionellen Wiener Hofzuckerbäckereien wohl fühlen! Bevor Doro zur Vollzeit-Tänzerin wurde, hat sie bei Gerstner Schokoladenkonfekt gemacht, und kann als Insider ein Paar Spezialitäten empfehlen, zum Beispiel Mandelhäufchen, Sacher Torte, Mohntorte, und auch besonders die Topfentorte – viel besser und gesünder als Cheesecake! Direkt gegenüber der weltberühmten Wiener Staatsoper im historischen Palais Todesco könnt ihr euch das Leben versüßen, jeden Tag bis 23:00! Wer der Geschichte nachessen will, findet die ‚originale‘ Sacher Torte beim Demel. Die authentische Wiener Kaffeekultur erwartet euch im Cafe Central, wo ihr entspannt stundenlang euren Kaffee trinken könnt und dazu unsere Empfehlung, das leckere ‚Peanut Caramel‘ genießen könnt, am Abend sogar mit Live Pianomusik.

Die Kaffee Puristen sollten auf jeden Fall einen Stopp bei der ältesten Rösterei Wiens Alt Wien einplanen. Third Wave Kaffeehäuser schießen derzeit in der ganzen Stadt aus dem Boden, zum Beispiel Brass Monkey mit ihren Cupcakes, People On Caffeine mit toller Filterbar, oder Coffee Pirates mit leckerem Dirty Chai.

Die heissen Sommertage haben schreien nach Abkühlung, und wir wissen wo ihr die beste eiskalte Erfrischung findet! Für bestes Eis hergestellt von Österreichischen Bio-Bauern, geht zum Eisgreissler. Für herrliches veganes Eis, geht zum Veganista. Für den besten Frozen Yoghurt mit unzähligen Toppings, geht zum Kurt. Für einen traditionellen Eissalon mit einer weltberühmten Spezialität, den Eismarillenknödeln, geht zum Eissalon Tichy.

Verlasst Wien nicht, ohne die Heiligtümer der Wiener Süßigkeiten gekostet zu haben: Sachertorte, Mannerschnitten, und Mozartkugeln!

Ein größerer Hunger und eine Prise Kreativität werden gefragt bei OmNomNom Burger wo ihr euren eigenen Burger zusammenstellen könnt! Für eine leckere vegane Alternative besucht die Swing Kitchen. Die älteste Bierbrauerei in Wien Fischerbräu ist der beste Ort um eine richtiges Wiener Schnitzel und ein kaltes Bier zu genießen. Mit kleinerem Hunger seid ihr beim Joseph Brot Bistro gut aufgehoben.

Wenn du Eindrücke lieber von oben sammelst, kannst du den grünen Hügel im Schönbrunner Schloßpark bis zur Gloriette hinaufspazieren, oder den Aufzug in den Turm vom Stephansdom nehmen. Wenn du Lust auf Kaffee oder Snack mit Aussicht hast, setz dich in die Bar & Lounge Dachboden am Dach vom 25hours Hotel, oder ins Cafe Oben am Dach der Stadtbücherei. Für ein größere Bild kannst du ein bisschen weiter zum Kahlenberg fahren.

Die Tribal Tänzerin in Wien kann Stunden beim Stoffgeschäft Komolka verbringen, bei Hans Peter Söhne Borten und Bänder aussuchen, und beim Textil Müller Großeinkäufe erledigen. Unser Lieblings-Jagdrevier ist der Naschmarkt Flohmarkt, der jeden Samstag stattfindet – wir empfehlen richtig früh dort zu sein um die besten Schnäppchen zu erwischen, und dann glücklich mit der Beute rechtzeitig zum ersten Samstagworkshop zu kommen ;) Zum angenehmen Ausklang bietet sich die Tolerance Shisha & Cocktail Bar mit breiter Auswahl von (auch nikotinfreien) Tabaks.

Die Abenteurer unter euch, die sich nicht vor Höhen fürchten, sollen unbedingt den Waldseilpark Kahlenberg ausprobieren, oder freies Fallen und Flying Fox im Spider-Rockschaut euch an wie Flo springt, und schaltet den Sound an! Für Geschwindigkeitsfreaks und Adrenalin-Junkies ist der Vergnügungspark Prater der richtige Ort, um ein Paar Stunden auf den verschiedensten Achterbahnen und anderen Fährten zu verbringen.

Für interessante Geheimtipps wie man Zeit in Wien mit ihren tausenden Facetten verbringen kann, schaut auf den Secret Vienna Blog! Wenn ihr nach spezifischen Dingen sucht, die hier nicht erwähnt sind, fragt uns einfach!





Unterkunft

Hotel

Bequeme Unterkunft gleich beim Workshoport:
www.hotel.de

Hostel

Eine günstigere alternative sind Wiens Jugendherbergen. Wir empfehlen das „Wombats Hostel“ mit zwei Standorten in Wien. ‚The Lounge‘ liegt an der U-bahn Linie U3 die euch zu Workshoplocation und Showlocation bringt! ‚The Naschmarkt‘ liegt an der Linie U4 gleich neben dem berühmten „Naschmarkt“ wo es Samstags auch einen super Flohmarkt gibt.
Es gibt die Möglichkeit, einen Rabatt für Gruppenbuchung ab 15 Personen bei Wombat’s zu bekommen! Ihr könnt euch dafür mit anderen CarVie TeilnehmerInnen in der Facebook-Veranstaltung zusammenschließen und gemeinsam eine Anfrage mit Personenanzahl schicken.

wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna „THE LOUNGE“
Mariahilfer Straße 137, 1150 Wien

wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna „THE NASCHMARKT“
Rechte Wienzeile 35,1040 Wien

www.wombats-hostels.com

Andere Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten

Weltweite Netzwerke, die Reisende mit den Menschen der Länder verbindet, die sie besuchen. Es gibt viele Menschen in Wien, die über diese Webseiten eine private Übernachtungsmöglichkeit anbieten.
www.couchsurfing.org
www.hospitalityclub.org


Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Wien hat eines der besten öffentlichen Verkehrssysteme der Welt. Den schnellsten Weg zwischen Orten in Wien findet ihr am besten auf der Website der Wiener Linien. Einfach das Formular ausfüllen, beste Möglichkeit auswählen und PDF-Karten runterladen auf denen der genaue Weg eingezeichnet ist.
www.wienerlinien.at

Ticketinfos